D-DAY: THE GREAT CRUSADE – Errata and Q&A, July 25, 2005
ERRATA

CRT

Disregard the Combined Arms modifier shown under the CRT. It should be a one row shift modifier as described in the rules, not one column shift . (Note, as per the rules, this added Row shift is applied after the die roll, and is optional. So, in effect you get to choose between two combat results if you have the combined arms bonus. [Design note: This represents greater mobility.]

On the 4:1 column, the D1r1 result should occur on a die roll of 86-96, not 86-97.

Counters

The Range of the British Airborne artillery is 3.

British 6th Airborne, (2) units are named the 5th Bde - one should be the 6th Bde.

German 10SS Division, 22 Regt is PzGren not Pz (panzer).

Map

There should be a bridge over the river at the 4362/4363 hexside. Also, on the Terrain Effects Chart, that should be "Flooded". 

Terrain Effects Chart

Mech units should only be halved when attacking into a Bocage hex, not out of one.

Rulebook

2.47 A.  The second symbol is Armored Infantry (or Panzer Grenadier), not armored recon.

5.2 II.f.2 Clarification: German End of Turn Phase: Replace with “The German player resolves bridge repair attempts.”   (Only the Allied player may attempt bridge destruction, and only with air power as in the rulebook.)

18.24: Delete this paragraph - It was inadvertently left in from playtest, and before I nailed down the exact arrival date of those units

Scenario Cards & Play Aids

There was an error on a couple of the setup cards due to the updated maps that I submitted. These were on 19.3A and 19.5A: Additionally, Ray created a handy play aid for the German Reinforcement units. They, as well as any new official updates and added play aids can be found here in PDF format:  http://criticalhit.com/DDTGC.html
Scenario 19.3G AND Scenario 19.5G - The 17MG Battalion should be setup in hex 5572, not 2748 in both of these scenarios.

Scenario 19.5G - The 1/915 element of the 352nd Inf Div should be setup in hex 2930, not 2624.  Also, the 914th and 916th Regiments are shown on their reduced sides on the card – they begin on their full strength side.  Ignore the Lehr Pio Battalion. It shows up on the June 8 Reinforcements.

British and Canadian Reinforcement Track – The British heavy artillery unit that appears on June 8 at Juno Beach should be 30C, not 2A. The counter is correct.

American Reinforcement Track

June 8: The 325th Glider Regiment should land in hex 3451, adjacent to St Mere Eglise.

Q&A

COUNTERS
Why is there a sixth German Resistance marker?

Originally, I was using six "resistance areas", with the American Airborne divisions being treated as their own unique area, and the "up side" weather result one level higher for a possible high of 8 Allied support points. We later switch to five to simplify things a bit.   Ray informed me a while back that there would be room in the counter mix for the German Pio battalions and the variant divisions that I wanted - Primarily the 319th and 116th Pz, and the British 1st Airborne. As usual with alt-history variants, a couple of these options were tinkered-with a little bit during playtest, but it was not very extensive. Therefore, I figured leaving the extra Resist Marker in was a good thing, as it can offer a little "tinkering" ability while using these variants. 

RULES

6.0 Is there an allied movement phase on June 6, or do the set-up hexes represent allied movement 

There is no movement by either side in this phase - The Section 6.0 June 6 sequence is followed exactly as shown in the rules, then game play proceeds to the June 7 turn.

6.1  The rulebook says there are 5 resistance markers. There are actually 6...two light, two medium, one heavy and one no resistance. Now, when the German player places his resistance markers does he know what he is placing, or is this done randomly? If he knows what he is placing why would he place the No resistance marker? Or is the extra Light Resistance marker just an extra (like the extra Beach Support marker)? 

See the above comments under “Counters” for the last answer. The German player places the markers deliberately – only the Allied player is left in the dark. He has to place the “No Resistance” marker as one of the five placed. Note: For solitaire play, it is suggested that these markers be placed randomly, then assign the Allied support as you would as if against an opponent.

8.1  This may seem obvious, but if a two-step unit takes a loss, is it considered a one-step unit for stacking purposes, or is it still considered a two step unit that is merely reduced?

A reduced two-step unit is counted as one step for stacking purposes. 

13.0  Can artillery bombard even with an enemy unit in its ZOC?   Assuming yes, can it bombard someone other than the unit in its ZOC? 

Yes and Yes. 

13.2  Can units from two different divisions spot for the same bombardment? Say you have a unit of the 4th ID and a unit from the 90 ID adjacent to a German unit. Can the Artillery of both divisions bombard that unit in one single attack?

Yes they can in that instance.

14.6  So, the Combined Arms is just a +1/-1 modifier? So, if I roll a 77 as an attacker, it would be a 78 instead? Likewise, if I was the defender, that 77 would become a 76 instead?

No - The modifier is one ROW, not one digit - So, you get the choice between two results.  This could be clearer in the rules; it says "+1 to the die roll result" but it should just say Row.

Example:

The Allied player attacks the German at 5:1 odds. He has Combined Arms and the German player cannot counter it. The Allied player rolls a 25. The result is an ArDr. The Combined Arms modifier moves the result "down" one ("+") for a ArD1 result. The Allied player can choose between the two results - Does he want to inflict the step loss or the retreat in this case? (If it had been a column shift, the roll of 25 would give the same result on the 6:1 table)

Note: PzGren or Mech inf cannot serve as the ARMOR element on the attack, but can in defense. In either case, a pure infantry unit is needed. (NOTE: This is not meant to ignore these units' infantry role, but rather to narrowly define receiving the combined arms mod in the game, which can be very advantageous given the choice of results after the roll.) 

Do Engineers qualify as Infantry for these purposes?

Yes.

16.12 Clarification: Read example #3 in particular; this paragraph is actually the explanation of how the rule is applied, not an actual example.

16.33  Naval and Battleship Bombardment: the rule says to add four to the bombardment level--does that mean add four to the die roll increments? Column shifts?

Four “attack” points of bombardment.

16.34 Battleship Withdrawal: When rolling for the Airborne and Battleship withdrawal, do you count a die roll "0" as a 0 or a 10? 

Zero is "10". 


Scenario 19.1  In SSR #4, it mentions that the German units must be 5 hex rows or less from the northern most allied unit. What if the German units are more than five hexes - say I want to move them all to Cherbourg? Do I have to place them back within five hex rows of an allied unit?

This reflects Hitler's "Stand or die" attitude and orders for forces in Normandy. They were to hold on and fight for every yard for as long as possible. So, if the Allied player sneaks a unit around the flank, it allows the German player flexibility to retreat back but until then, the German player must stand and fight or at least stay within striking range of the U.S. forces.

Scenario 19.2: It mentions that the units are elements of the 2nd Infantry Division and V Corps, yet the counter representing the Corps is 19C. Should this be a 5C counter instead?

Good question!  When the 747th landed on 7 June at Omaha, it was attached to V Corp; the 29th ID to be exact.. It was later attached to XIX Corp. 

Scenario 19.3G: Elements of the 716, 326 and 752 counters - there is no 752 division, unless the 752 of the 326 is what is meant?

Correct.

Scenario 19.5, Allied Victory Conditions. 1)Coastal Ports says that the Allied player must exit 30 combat strength points off the south map edge. Is this Attack points, or Defense Points?

Attack points.

------------------------------------------------------------

The items added to this document in this latest installment include the following:

Errata:
Terrain Effects Chart
Mech units should only be halved when attacking into a Bocage hex, not out of one.

Scenario 19.3G AND Scenario 19.5G - The 17MG Battalion should be setup in hex 5572, not 2748 in both of these scenarios.

Q&A, on the CA bonus:
Note: PzGren or Mech inf cannot serve as the ARMOR element on the attack, but can in defense. In either case, a pure infantry unit is needed. (NOTE: This is not meant to ignore these units' infantry role, but rather to narrowly define receiving the combined arms mod in the game, which can be very advantageous given the choice of results after the roll.) 
