SIGHTING IN EAST WIND RAIN—CLARIFICATIONS
AND REVISIONS

Sighting in East Wind Rain is a fairly complex process due to the interaction of two players using fleets, bases, and submarines. The
following is a "flowchart" approach that describes the sequence of options when TF is performing a static intercept of a moving TF.
From this sequence, players should be able to interpolate the sequence for other encounters. TFA is performing an intiaitive; TFZ is the
intercepting TF.

The sequence begins when TFA moves within two hexes of TFZ.
1. Does TFZ attempt to statically intercept TFA at 2 hex range? If YES, go to 2. If NO, go to Al.
2. TFA halts. TFZ moves one and only one hex and must be adjacent to TFZ in doing so—except in 1944-45 for an airstrike. Go to 3.

3. TFZ has a choice. It can try to sight from the adjacent hex, or declare intent first to move into TFAs hex before sighting. If TFZ sights from the adjacent hex, go to 4. If TFZ wishes to first enter TFAs hex, go to A2.

4. TFZ rolls a die to sight using all normal modifiers. Retain this sighting number. If TFZ sights, go to 5. If TFZ fails to sight, this ends the static intercept of TFA by TFZ.

5. If TFZ wishes to launch an airstrike, go to 6. If TFZ only wishes to engage in surface combat, go to A2.

6. TFZ sets up the airstrike. TFA then rolls to countersight. All strikes and counterstrikes are executed. If neither side loses morale
and breaks and TPZ wishes to engage in surface combat, go to B3 immediately. If TFZ does not wish to engage in surface combat
following carier strikes, the intercept ends, and TFZ may redeploy in the area, or retreat. TFA may continue its initiative or withdraw.

Al. Does TFZ attempt to statically intercept TFA at adjacent hex range? If YES, go to 4. If no, go to Bl.
A2. Before TFZ can enter TFAs hex, TFA may attempt to sight TFZ while it is in the adjacent hex (before TFZ enters TFAs hex).TFA would only do this if it wished and could launch an airstrike on TFZ. In this case, TFA temporarily again becomes the active player.If TFA succeeds in sighting, go to B2. If TFA fails to sight, go to A3.

A3. TFZ moves into TFAs hex. TFZ now tries to sight TFA. If TFZ fails to sight TFA, that ends the static intercept. TFZ must re-main in place and TFA may continue in its initiative. If TFZ sights TFA go to A4 and follow the options indicated there.

A4. TFZ rolls to sight using the usual rules. If it fails, that ends the static intercept. If TFZ sights TFA, then TFZs options are limited. If TFZ wishes to launch an airstrike, then it sets it up. TFA then rolls to countersight. If TFA fails to countersight, then TFZ launches one strike (no immediate second) and then must engage in surface combat (unless TFAs morale was broken by the airstrike). If,however, TFA succeeds in countersighting TFZ, TFZ may not launch the air strike and TFA and TFZ immediately engage in surface or ASW warefare.
Bl. If TFA has not sighted yet and enters the hex of TFZ, TFZ may try to intercept TFA in its own hex, but only if TFZ has not tried previously to intercept TFA, during this initiative. If TFZ tries, go to A4. If not, go to B4.

B2. TFA sets up its airstrike, then TFZ rolls to countersight. Follow all the normal airstrike rules. If neither TF has its morale broken by the airstrikes, go to A3.

B3. Follow the surface combat or ASW combat rules.

B4. There is no intercept. TFA may attempts to sight TFZ, or will continue moving. (TFA could move to an adjacent hex and then try to sight TFZ). If TFA sights TFZ in the same hex, its options are identical to the situation in A4 but with the roles reversed.

********** EAST WIND RAIN ADDENDA **********
^ These are additions to, or replacements %
for, the following paragraphs
V.B.2.C.

C. If hexes with economic markers are
either occupied by friendly units or bases or
are in a friendly zone during the operations
phase, they are worth a number of ERs
equal to the printed value on the counter.
An economic marker either may be trans-
ported to the home country or used to pay
for one initiative—including an immediate
second strike originating from that area.
Unused ERs may NOT be saved. The
friendly economic marker must be in the
area in which a base, TF, or ground force
sights and launches an attack. In the case
of an airstrike, the target may be in another
areas.

V.C.2.C.

The total damage to be repaired is equal to
the ship's armor factor for each damage
marker on the ship.

V.C.5.g.

If no base markers are available a player
may voluntarily remove one of his own in
play and use it, but all costs must be paid
for at full rate for a new base. No ERs are
received for the base being removed.

V.C.6.a.

All units constructed in Kenya are delayed
in arrival for one turn.

V.C.6.b.

Reinforcement ships and new construction
ships due to arrive on the West Coast or
Panama may arrive at Pearl Harbor if it
has a friendly supplied major base.

VLB.
The MAGIC chit begins the long and short
games off the chart. The first time it is used
the chit is placed on the box labelled 2.

VI .F.2.

If the TF contains submarines, the
Japanese player must reveal that the TF
contains submarines, but not the number
of factors. This activity occurs at the end of
the naval staging phase.

vm.D.
Except for refueling TFs and TFs in port in
the December 1941 turn, all TFs are always
at sea. TFs and ships not in TFs in port
cannot be engaged in surface or ASW war-
fare. Ship counters not assigned to a TF
MUST be placed in a port box on the TF
card. These are considered to be in port,
cannot move or intercept at all and are at-
tacked as for TFs in port.

EK.A.2.
d. Allied bases are considered to be US or
Commonwealth depending on the majority
of ground troops present or the majority of
TFs based there if a major base. If no gar-



rison or TF is there, or no clear majority,
all bases WEST of and including New
Guinea and Australia are Commonwealth
for ER payment purposes.

X.D.4.
This does not count as an operation; it oc-
curs free during the strategic deployment
phase.

X.D.5.
unloadings, amphibious landings or assults
in the same area/zone during an operation.
Unlimited loadings and unloadings at
friendly ports/bases in one or two areas are
performed at a cost of one ER, count as
one initiative, but not as combat initiating.
Hence, a second initiative does not cost
double ERs. Multiple LANDINGS,
though paid for separately, count as one
initiative. EACH amphibious ASSAULT
counts as a separate initiate.

X.I.4.           
4. The costs for the second initiative are
DOUBLED IF the first initiative resulted in
at least one round of combat. If no ERs
were expened by the moving TF in its first
initiative, only normal costs for the second
initiative are paid. Combat caused by an
enemy interception IS NOT considered
combat initiated by the moving TF.

X.N.3.g.
Once a TF begins to retreat it cannot per-
form any operations unless it refuels.

XI.F.1.
This counts as an initiative and costs a nor-
mal one ER per 10 asps. It is non-combat
causing.

XI.H.l.c
c. If the sighting is successful, the de-
fending player must declare, if the target is
a TF, whether the TF has main, screen,
and/or reserve components (submarines
must be identified as such), and the striking
player SECRETLY allocates his forces to
CAP, Escort and Strike missions.

XI.M.5.
c. If the attacker flew to a base or TF
other than the original launch point, the
return strike may be against any base/TF
involved in launching or landing.

XI.R.2.

Economic markers in zones cannot be at-
tacked.

XIII.M.6.
c. Subtact one from the TF morale if the
TF has any ships in the reserve component.


XV.B.2.a.

Economic markers in zones cannot be at-
tacked.

XVI.A.4.C.
If all attackers are eliminated, or an assault
is wiped off the beach, but the attackers
did eliminate the garrison, the base is
eliminated.

XVII.A.I.
Ground units are not limited in initiatives
like TFs, but only by movement points.

XVII.A.3.

b. It costs two MPs to enter a jungle,
swamp, or rough terrain hex. An atoll costs
one MP to enter.

B. ENEMY HELD HEXES.
1. In order to enter a hex containing enemy
ground units the moving ground units must
first sight the enemy hex.

XVII.B.2.
The ground units may move elsewhere and
attempt to sight other targets.

XVIII.D.2.a.
points until all ground unit/base garrison
factors have been eliminated. Note that air
factors cannot defend alone, but may only
support ground troops or garrisons.

XXIV.
C. Special note concerning the Australia
zone. TFs may move directly between the
Australia zone and the New Hebrides area
at a cost of 2 MPs.

XXV.A.2.a.

within one hex of a supplied enemy TF if
by water or does not pass through a hex
containing a supplied enemy installation or
ground unit if by land. A supply line may
combine land and water supply lines. Note:

installations exert no influence on land sup-
ply lines other than their own hex.
Rangers and Chindits are always in supply.

XXV.B.2.

economic phase. An unsupplied TF that
manages to redeploy to a major base
(because of enemy TF redeployment first)
remains unsupplied unless during the next
economic phase 10 ERs are paid to supply
it.
XXXII.C.3.
in which it applies. If the Japanese home
islands are invaded, the Japanese player
immediately (before combat is resolved)
receives 20 free factors of infantry in
Tokyo, and an additional free 10 infantry
strength points in any one Japanese city in
each subsequent economic phase that
Allied troops or bases are suplied and in the
home islands.

