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West Texas Gamers Association

Rules Clarifications for “Empires of the Ancient World”
Revised 1/26/03
· Leader/Personality Cards: May only have one Engineer or Diplomat Card. May have more than one Merchant card in play. 

· Engineer Cards: (1) Reduce cost to fortify to two trade blocks. (2) +1 Modifier to Artillery fire. (3) Take possession of fortification if player wins siege, otherwise fort is destroyed.
· Merchant Cards: (1) +1 trade blocks income. (2) +1 extra trade block placement per action, or pick up +1 extra trade block and move to warehouse as detailed below. (3) +1 Displacement.
· Diplomat Cards: May “attack” neutral areas, paying one trade block or “attack” controlled area as detailed below.
· Archers: are skirmishers and are defeated by light horse.

· Skirmishers: negate/block another skirmish card. Archers block skirmishers and vice versa. 

· Plunder: Any blocks not of your color are eligible for plunder when a battle takes place. Neutral and Diplomatic attacks do not gain plunder. Trade blocks remain in affected area.

· Artillery: Takes precedence over skirmishers and archers in siege combat. Remember that artillery can only attack Infantry and Elephants in the open, otherwise it looses.
· Placing Control Markers: When using this action, you can only place control markers in areas that you already own. This protects against revolts and diplomatic attacks.
House Rules:
· Battle and Leader/Personality Casualties: When suffering losses, any Army cards used in the battle and all leader or personality cards in play by the player suffering losses are available for random causalities. 
· Diplomats: May only “attack” truly adjacent areas. They may not use sea movement to move through a sea area, though they may use sea lanes to “attack” an adjacent area. A Base Roll of “7” is required to attack a player controlled province. Diplomats may use 1-3 trade blocks to influence the die roll required to take over the area (they will have to use at least one to modify down to a “6”). One Block = “6”, Two Blocks = “5+”, Three Blocks = “4+”. Diplomats may automatically gain neutral areas by expending 1 trade block.
· Use of Plunder: May convert plundered trade blocks for placement on the map. Switch to own color and place on map, return used plunder not of your color to owning player.
· Revolts: May use two trade blocks to negate a revolt.
· Attacks on Neutrals: May use normal dice method or choose to discard one non empire army card. Must decide beforehand.
· New Action: Pick up one of own color trade blocks and place in warehouse. May pick up +1 Block for each Merchant Owned.
