NEPPAGames: ETO™ Q&A, 08/10/04, from Boardgamegeek.com forum

Q:  I'm unclear about reinforcement limits. 

Looking at the force pool cards and rule 4.0 (rules v1.3), I can see that there are "At Start" forces, "Available Forces," and "Additional Forces." I place all the "At Start" forces on the board prior to starting a game. On my first turn (unit construction phase), I can pull from "Available Forces" to the limit that is available on the card. The "Additional Forces" will become available on a future date/turn. 

My confusion begins when units start being eliminated. Should I be returning eliminated units to the force pool card? If so, when my unit construction phase occurs, will I be able to purchase units from both the "At Start" forces AND from the "Available Forces" (and from the "Additional Forces" on the appropriate dates), depending on how many units have been eliminated? 

If my guess above is correct, then France will always be able to have 11 infantry units deployed at one time. If 6 French infantry were eliminated on one turn, France would then be able to purchase ALL 6 the next turn, rather than just 3. Does this sound correct?
One clarification to the above (spelled it right that time): 

France would be able to buy all 6 infantry in the example, but no more than 6, correct? France would never be able to buy more than 11 infantry at one time and on the first turn would be able to buy no more than 3 infantry (because no units have been eliminated yet).

A:  Your interpretation is correct. The maximum number of any unit type that can be on the board at once is the sum of the "At Start" and "Available" units. So, to use the French as an example, France has 8 infantry units available "At Start", and 3 infantry units "Available". Therefore, the maximum number of infantry units France can have on the board is 11. 

Eliminated units are simply recycled back to the force pool and can be rebuilt at any time (WPPs permitting). 

So, if in your French example, 6 French "At Start" infantry units were eliminated in the Axis half of the Fall 1939 turn, France could then rebuild those units in the Allied half of the Fall 1939 turn, along with the other "Available" but as yet unbuilt units. 

Hope this helps. Good gaming, and thanks for your interest in NEPPAGames: ETO.

