Fortress Berlin

Questions and Answers

Q. Are units limited to one type of attack per combat phase, or could a single tank unit, for example, participate in a mixed bombardment, then direct fire, and then close assault the same hex? 

A. Yes, only one type of attack per player-turn per unit is allowed (so choose wisely). A defending hex, however, can be attacked in multiple ways each combat phase, first bombarded, then a direct gun fire attack, and then close assaulted. 
Q. What happens when a unit already in a ruins hex gets a D result?  Does it have to flip to movement mode?

A. If in combat mode, yes, it flips. See the second sentence of Section 8.8. While case 9.0.2 say a unit in Maneuver Mode can't enter a Ruins hex, they can, of course, remain there.


Q. During "Direct Fire" at a two or more hex range, does an "EX" result on the CRT still apply? Or is this considered like "bombardment" and a "No Result." 

A. Yes, during "Direct Fire," and at whatever range, an "EX" result on the CRT still does apply.

Q. In an Exchange, if no single attacking unit matches the defender's FS or PF, does the attacker lose more than one unit until the total FS or PF matches the defender's? 
A. The attacker can only lose one unit maximum in an exchange.
Q. Are the boxed "b" at the airports the bunkers referenced on the TEC?

A. Yes, the "b" squares at the airports are bunkers.
Suggested Clarification: Slightly alter the entry for the Differential Calculation column for Bombardments/Mixed Bombardments from "Total FS minus Total PF" to instead read "Total FS minus (Total PF plus best terrain PF). This is stated in the bombardment rule section and inking it in here makes the formula easier to remember.
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