Red Badge of Courage unofficial consolidated errata
6/22/03
[RHB = Richard Berg’s answer; JA = John Alsen’s answer]
2001 Series Rules
4.22 Clarification: RHB: Determine whether units are In Command at the time the status matters. Thus, leaders can move around during an Activation to place units In Command.
JA: Determine Command status for the whole turn at the beginning of the turn.
5.3 Clarification: A player with a command that starts an Activation Segment under March Orders always puts the March Order marker in The Pool. When the March Order marker is selected, the player may use it to move the aforesaid units, or to attempt to Change Orders. If the order change is successful, the player puts into The Pool the number of that command’s AMs it was entitled to this turn, less one. (Exception: If the March AM is the last one picked, the command does not get additional AMs.) 
The command still has to wait for its next “Command” AM to be selected, as the only thing the March chit can do is allow players to move units under March Orders, or to make such a change. In essence, the best a player can hope for, when using the March chit to change orders, is “Change and Stand.” 

6.24 Clarification: Under “Aggressive,” paragraph 2, do not consider LOS when determining the nearest enemy units.

7.22 Clarification: The second bullet only applies to a 180 degree change.

7.32 Clarification: A unit may Refuse even if it is adjacent to two friendly flank hexes if the line bends in the unit’s hex.

8.22 Clarification: A unit that starts a phase under another unit and moves forward is considered to be moving through the top unit.

8.31 Clarification: You can fire up with a total of 7 SPs in the hex; that fire can come from a combination of any units in hex. Thus, if you had a 3 SP unit on top, and a 7 SP unit on the bottom, you could fire with the 7 SP unit, or with the 3 SP unit and 4 SPs of the bottom unit.
8.35 Clarification: If the top unit is eliminated before the disorder check, the remaining units in the stack don’t have to check, either.
8.41, Third Bullet: It’s the hex being extended into that cannot be adjacent to an enemy unit.

8.44 First Bullet: Delete the last sentence. (?)
8.5 Diagram: Change the left Front to Flank.

9.33 Clarification: The effects listed here apply to the turn after the movement of the leader.
Clarification: If the order in which Corps and Army leaders move makes a difference, move a leader from the Initiative side first, then alternate moving leaders until all have moved.

9.43 Clarification: RHB: Artillery may take advantage of the March rates for Pikes and Roads.
JA: Artillery cannot take advantage of Pike and Road rates.
9.44: Change to read: For units under March and Advance Orders, the Trail movement rate is one less than the normal cost of entering a hex (minimum of 1).
9.54 Correction: In the example, the unit only adds +1 to each roll.

9.61Addition: You may also place a Refuse marker on a unit in lieu of changing facing. 

9.72 Clarification: If an enemy unit is adjacent to a reinforcing unit’s entry hex, the reinforcing unit may enter under Advance Orders, but can’t shock assault until its next Activation. 
Clarification: A new Activation resets the entry costs to 0.

10.11 Second Bullet, Clarification: A unit under Advance Orders may change facing and still fire. 

10.28 Clarification: For a combat unit to block LOS under this section, it must be on the same elevation as the artillery unit and the target.

10.42 Clarification: A reaction facing change by the defender occurs after the offensive fire, but before the defensive fire, though both fires are considered simultaneous.

10.42 & 10.45 Clarification: Return Fire and Approach Fire are allowed once per Brigade Activation (and thus multiple times when a Division’s AM is pulled, unless the Brigade Coordination rule is used).

10.43 Clarification: The second condition of the second sentence applies to Continued Shock only.

10.44 Clarification: If one unit withdraws but another stays behind, the non-phasing player still gets Withdrawal Fire.

10.45 Clarification: An enemy unit doesn’t have to be moving towards an artillery unit for that artillery unit to be eligible for Approach Fire. 

10.52 Clarification: Prepared Fire is allowed after a Reaction Facing Change.

10.8 Clarification: Fire received by a unit along the vertex between its front and flank is not flanking fire.

10.91 Clarification: The Ammo Depletion DRM only affects fire.

11.33 Clarification: Units under March Orders may not Retreat Before Shock.

11.63 Clarification: A green unit must still pass a commitment check before it can automatically eliminate an artillery unit.

12.23 Clarification: Dismounted cavalry units are not subject to Collapse.

13.41 Clarification: If a unit’s disordered cohesion is 0, apply c for any roll other than 0.

13.52 Clarification: If a Collapsed unit recovers, do not apply an additional Disorder result. (Collapsed units are already Disordered.) 

15.12 Clarification: More than one Breastworks marker can be in the same hex.

15.23 Clarification: Breastworks never benefit mounted cavalry units.
17.21 Clarification: Do not increase a brigade’s Fatigue level until the end of an activation that causes an increase.
JA: Fatigue is applied as it is incurred, i.e. upon third activation or upon second shock attack/defense.
17.22 Cause 1, Exception 1: A brigade does not incur fatigue if you only move its leader when it is activated.
Exception 2: Crossing bridges and fords does not count as entering other terrain that would count towards fatigue.


First Bull Run Battle Book

4.3 Addition: Either player may attach an artillery battery from one brigade to another, up to a maximum of one per brigade. Simply state which battery is being attached to which brigade at the start of an activation. The battery must remain attached to that brigade for the rest of the current turn.
Clarification: Any artillery battery that comes on before the rest of its command and that is not attached to another command is Out of Command.
5.26 CLARIFICATION: When Hampton moves into range of his prospective commander, and completes his movement, the instant he does that the regiment assumes the Orders that that brigade has. Also, it must be an AoP brigade. Until attached, Hampton may only move under March Orders.
5.3 Clarification: You don’t pull Efficiency Markers for the cavalry commands. Palmer always gets 2 AMs, and the Confederates always get 3 AMs.

6.4 Clarifications: Use the lower rating for any regiment that has two battalions with different Cohesion Ratings. A regiment does not have to be In Command to attempt a change. The change is attempted during when the unit’s AM is drawn, as with any other Orders change.
10.83, Second Bullet: Change “non-phasing” to “phasing.”

10.85 CLARIFICATION: This section applies to all Zouave units, even the white-panted 11 NY.
14.41 et seq. CLARIFICATION: The batteries of Schenck and Sherman may not fire until the 1000 turn. They may, starting with that turn, fire each time their AM is pulled, even if their brigade is still In Reserve. 
Matthews Hill Clarification: All Brigadiers are considered to be In Command for all purposes.
Second Bull Run Battle Book

4.11 Clarification: Pope’s rating of 0/1* means he can use 1 point to assist commanders of his army (like McDowell). When the Union is rolling for Initiative, if he's going to start with an Army V command, he uses the '1'; Potomac uses the 0.
5.23: Jackson has an Efficiency Rating of '2', which is not covered anywhere. He may give 1 AM to two in range divisions, or 2 AM to one in range division. 

14.52: Hatch has his own counter as division commander; he is not represented on the reverse of King's counter. 

14.6: Alas, we forgot to make the Sharpshooter icon green. 

DEPLOYMENT INSTRUCTIONS (Full Battle/2BR): 

1. RHB: The 4 batteries listed as starting in N3032 for the Union (with King) do not start there; they are deployed correctly with their brigades, below. 
JA: They start with King.
2. Milroy's Brigade (Union) is the Ind/3/I VA, not “Ind/1/I VA” as stated in the deployment. 

3. (CSA) Pelham's Horse Art is the "1 Stuart HA" counter. 

Deployment Instructions (Jackson Found! Scenario): Remove Robertson’s Cavalry Brigade from the initial deployment. (This brigade enters at 1000 as listed on the Confederate reinforcement schedule.)
Union Reinforcements:
August 29th, 0700: Beardsley’s Cavalry Brigade enters under Advance Orders (brigades at Fatigue Level 4 cannot have March Orders).

August 29th, 1300: Bayard’s Cavalry Brigade should enter at instead at 1100.

RBoC Charts & Tables

Terrain Effects Chart

Change both the Road row to read “1/[½][d][e]” for infantry, cavalry, and artillery.

Change note d to read: Units in March Order pay ½ MP for each Pike or Road hex. Units under Advance Orders pay 1 MP. Units under Attack Orders pay the cost of the terrain in the hex.

Terrain Effects Chart Note "i" add: Mounted cavalry receives no benefit. 

Fire Table

Fire DR Adjustments Change : +1 DRM for Artillery Fire at a non-adjacent lower-level target 
Fire Note b: Disregard this note. As per 10.71, treat any non-step loss result against artillery as “D.”
Defender’s Pre-Shock DRMs

Defender's Pre-Shock DRMs Change: -1 Unit in Breastworks 
Loose Cannon Table
For Normal, change result to just “Retains its Orders.” This conforms the table to 6.24.


Second Disorder Table

The first line (“Attack Orders Facing Change in Woods”) applies only to River of Death.

Map
Treat the “tree belts” (trees along a hexside as in N4915/4816) as a woods hex if movement or LOS crosses the hexside, otherwise clear.

2nd Edition map errata: JA: The two fords at N3809/3810 and N4008/4009 should be bridges. I believe this should be: These are both A type fords.

Counters

2 BR: 
The Union 1 NH battery's guns should be H6, not HA. 
Change the MA for the Union D, PA Lt artillery (V PT) to 8/7. 

The Union 2 MD regiment, marked as being in 3/1/IX PT, should be in 1/2/IX PT. All OOB info should be changed to reflect this as well.
And yes, we are a tad short of "Brigade In Reserve" markers for the set up for the full 2BR battle. Be resourceful.

