By Fabio Bernardini

Clarifications in red derive from answers given by Richard H. Berg in the Risorgimento Consimworld Folder. There is also a Change to the rule 9.1.

RISORGIMENTO 1859 Battle Game Errata (8/1/00)

4.12 Clarification Enemy ZOC do block command range

4.14 Clarification Reserve Batteries. These Batteries can fire at any time during that corps activation (as if they were a brigade) but DO NOT have to be in range of anyone (not even the Corps Commander)

4.21 Clarification. The Naviglio Canal in Magenta DOES NOT  block Corps Commander Command range.

4.23. Overall Commanders move under this rule. However, ignore everything after the first sentence. There is no penalty for exceeding 12 MP.

4.25. Clarification. Victor Emmanuelle’s ‘3’ rating also serves as his Range and Continuity Ratings when used as Corps Commander.

4.41. Clarification.  This is the Sequence in which the actions are undertaken, except that artillery may Fire either before or after moving (small-arms units fire after movement.).

4.42. Units that are Without Orders that are not already using Strategic Movement may not use SM. They may stop using SM, though. This does not apply to entering Reinforcements or units activated from Reserve. 

4.42. Addition. Artillery units that are Without Orders, or Out of Command, may Fire or Move (not both) when activated.

4.43. Addition. In an Extended Activation, only those French and Piedmontese Artillery units that are within range of their Corps Commander may fire; Austrian batteries may fire if within range of their brigadier (or Corps, if Corps or Reserve Artillery). Artillery may always Reaction fire.

4.51. Clarification. The Corps Commander’s Continuity Rating is used whether he is on or off the map.

4.6. Clarification In order to put a Brigade In Reserve, leave the units where they are (those that are in Command) whit a “In Reserve” marker on top of them, you cannot move them. The overstaking capability refers also to the initial deployment.

5.11. Clarification In Magenta, those are all Roads (some major, some minor), except for the RR, which 

is treated as a trail, and thus may not be used for SM through the vineyards.

5.1 Clarification Artillery using Strategic Movement cannot fire (not even in reaction).

5.11 Clarification A unit can’t move in Strategic Mode within 3 hex of an enemy unit, even if the former can’t see the latter (..it’s not what they can see, it’s what they think might be out there)

7.1 Clarification Artillery can fire only thru frontal hexes

6.1 Clarification An attacking  unit can change facing one vertex (in the combat hex) after forcing the defender to retreat.

7.21. Jagers/Chasseurs may not Withdraw if the subject of a Suprise Attack (Magenta). Cavalry may. 

7.41 Clarification. All Commitment dierolls for the brigade are undertaken before any attacks are resolved. Also, ignore the first • ; that is covered by the term “Adjusted Cohesion”.

7.45. Clarification. [Position DRM] Attackers get this DRM as long as the attacking units are Committed to Attack; they do not necessarily have to "combine" (7.31). 

7.47. The word "Morale" should read "Cohesion". 

7.5. Clarification. General charge sequence: The cavalry unit moves. It then, if eligible to Charge, checks for Commitment. Iot then moves and attacks. While the latter movement is part of the charge, it is not pasrt of actual “movement”.

     Clarification. An infantry and a cavalry unit may target the same enemy unit for an attack/charge, but the two may not be combined.

8.1. Clarification.  Hits have no effect on Artillery.

8.31[4]. Clarification. This applies if the unit is stacked with the leader. 

8.33. Clarification. This applies even if the retreat is blocked by friendly units. (It means that if the only available hex his occupied by a friendly unit but belonging to another brigade, the retreating unit is ELIMINATED)

8.33 Clarification Artillery unit stacked with other units, forced to retreat due to enemy attack, is ELIMINATED.

8.4. Clarification. Whenever a leader is alone and an enemy moves adjacent, after rolling to see if he is Finished, place the counter with the nearst combat unit in his brigade.

8.51. Units in an Extended Activation (4.43) may not Rally. 

9.1 Artillery units have no effect on HDC. 

9.1 (New) Change: HdeC status is checked only at the end of turn, in the Demoralization Segment.

ALL SCENARIOS 

Clarification. When the Leader's name is in Bold Lettering, that indicates the counter for that Leader. 

MAGENTA 

Magenta: (awareness). Clarification: after rolling for awareness, then you have to roll for commitment (if choosing to attack)

French Reinforcements: The Battle Letter indicator (S, M) for the two 12(8) batteries (IV Corps) are reversed. (There are several minor mistakes in identification for counters; all to be listed later) 

Piedmont Reinforcements:  The Aosta Cavalry regiment arruves in the Nite 2 turn.

Awareness and Surprise. This is a mechanic with all sorts of possibilities, permutations and combinations. Some notes: 1. If you start the phase adjacent and aware, there is no surprise. 2. If a unit has moved adjacent to an enemy so that the latter is in its Frontal Hex (and thus does not have to roll for Awareness), but the former is NOT in the latter's ZOC, gets an automatic Surprise +2. If such an attack would be through its Rear, that would be a +3 (total). 3. You cannot get Surprise, even if you had to roll for Awareness, if such attack is through the target's ZOC hex (usual its immediate Frontal). 

Some of the situations will have to be dealt with on an individual basis . . . ask away. As I said, lots of possibilities here. 

SAN MARTINO 

Yes, the Piedmontese units initially deployed have no leaders. That is correct. (Pettinengo starts with his brigade.)

General Benedek and King V. Emmanuel start In Reserve; they may be released as soon as you release the first of their brigades.

The 7 (Mollard Reserve) battery is placed in either 1123 or 1223

Clarification. As there is no Demoralization, there is no Rain effect on Demoralization. 

One checks for Rain after each Activation (not the not-used Continuity dieroll). 

SOLFERINO 

Game starts with the 0500 turn. 

General Benedek and King V. Emmanuel start In Reserve; they may be released as soon as you release the first of their brigades.

Counter: the Austrian 4th Kaiser Jagers is in Puchner's Brigade, NOT Festetic's brigade (as the counter indicates). 

VIII Corps. Ignore all those Division Leaders ( Berger, Land, Gassmyer). Leftover from an earlier, more complex, less kinder/gentler version. 

Piedmont Reinforcements: The 7 (Mollard Reserve) battery and the Monforto Cavalry arrive 0700/N1026.
