

The Sands of Iwo Jima – Errata and Clarifications 11-11-07

 Rules Errata: 
4.3 Change to read: “After pre-game Barrage, set up the following U.S. Marine regiments on a South beach hex, one unit per hex: Near Mt. Suribachi with units of the 28th Regiment. Continue placement with units of the 27th Regiment, then the 23rd Regiment and finally, the 25th Regiment. Tanks may land this phase; other units not landed this turn, including artillery may land starting turn two during the ‘B’ phase 

(see 5.0). Exception; Marine reserves -: (see 9.2).”
5.0B Eliminate the end of the first sentence:  “including the tanks on turn 1”  Add the line “Conduct any withdrawals.”
5.0 C. Eliminate the second sentence:  “Use the Invasion Table if it is turn 1.”

There is no invasion table – always use the Random Events Table.

7.8  In the third paragraph, last sentence eliminate the word ‘Combat’ from the term 

“placed adjacent to an Allied combat unit.”

8.1 B.: Eliminate the parenthesized word “(six!)” at the end of the first sentence.  Add ‘Units fire once’.
8.1 D.: Eliminate the sentence “This is why separate Japanese Barrage markers are provided.” In the first ‘NOTE’.

8.1.1.: Add ‘All DRM’s are cumulative.”

8.2.3.: Add “All DRM’s are cumulative.”

8.2.4 (added): Fire Combat Precedence –

A. Combat between adjacent units is mandatory.                                                              B. All attacking units adjacent must attack and all defending units /forts / fortifications must be attacked.                                                                                                               C. When there is more than one unit per side involved in more than one hex, the attacker may first decide what to attack with which, within step 'B' above.  You may attack a single hex with units in multiple hexes, and you may attack multiple hexes providing all attackers are adjacent to all defending hexes in the current action.                                  D. The attacking player) can divide combat any way desired, so long as you are within the provisions of 'B'.                                                                                                                 E. Units can only attack or defend once per phase.
8.6 First paragraph, last sentence add “Placement is by attackers choice, but all units in a hex must receive at least one hit before any are eliminated”
8.6.1 Under the explanation for fire combat table results, eliminate the ‘Blue’ and ‘Red’.  Instead, in descending order:  ‘A1’ (referring to attacker), ‘D1’ (referring to defender) and ‘D2’ (again referring to defender).

Table Errata:

On the Fire Combat, Table, 

* The differential column’s list ‘5’ twice – the first should be a ‘4’.

* Change “– 1 DRM if U.S. unit(s) attacking a fortification hex” to
                “– 1 DRM if U.S. unit(s) attacking a fortification LINE hex”
* Change “+1 or +2 DRM if a friendly tank”  etc  to
                “+1 or +2 DRM Per friendly tank…”
In the Random Events Table change:

Event 11-16, the first three words “If playing solitaire” are eliminated.

Event 61-63 the words “and Second Defense Lines” are eliminated.
On the Barrage Combat Table, in the description of ‘Attrition’, change “the Japanese player is immediately awarded 2 VP” to “immediately awarded 1 VP..”
10.2 – add at end of section;

Play Balance: 
* IF it seems to you the American player has unfair advantage, reduce Japanese victory points required to win an immediate victory to 30. 
* IF it seems the Japanese have the advantage, increase victory points required to 40. 

Counter Errata:
There are 14 hexes where fortifications need to be set up but only 13 fortification counters.  Many of you have received games with a second counter set – feel free to use one of the extra ‘3-X’ fortification counters.  

Clarifications:
1. Decide and roll for Marine reinforcements during step ‘A’ of the Sequence of play.  Conduct withdrawals during step ‘B’.
2. During Fire Combat, there is no DRM for being IN a Fortification. Only a Fortress provides the Japanese a Fire Combat DRM. There is still a DRM for being in a Fortification LINE hex.  (Note - Barrage Table still gives DRMs for fortifications). 
3. Fire Combat is still possible even if odds are less than 0. Use the 0 column to fire in that event.   Odds greater than +8 are treated as +8.

4. If a unit is in a hex with two different elevations, treat as the higher elevation (eg: hex 1310 has both elevation 1 and elevation 2 – treat as elevation 2 if firing into elevation 1.
5. During pre-game bombardment, the U.S. player may fire all his ships once and then repeat for as many bombardments as allowed.  Units may be targeted a second time.  The air unit may be used once to enhance one bombardment.

6. There will be times when the Japanese player won’t be able to fire all his available artillery due to lack of legal targets.  This will especially be true after Suribachi falls and the Japanese may no longer target units out of spotting range.

6. Hex 0514 is a legal beach hex and may be used for landings etc.

7. Tanks may be landed on turn 1, providing the American player lands them in a hex with no other units.  Note that this may cause units to land in range of Japanese opportunity fire.
8. The solitaire game does mandate Japanese units perform opportunity fire at two hex range whenever possible, whereas the two player game does not – the Japanese side can hold it’s fire.

9. Up to two units may stack in a hex PLUS one tank unit.  Also, when attacking with more than one stack and each attacking stack has a tank, Tank DRM’s are cumulative.
10. The Japanese player gets 2 VP for placing an Infiltrator, NOT 2 VP per turn.
11. The U.S. player deducts one VP per turn he controls at least one airfield.  He does not deduct one VP per airfield controlled, however.
13. U.S. regiments to be withdrawn may have suffered unit losses and/or attrition.
