Subject: “Vietnam, 1965-1975” Questions to Tony Curtis
Date: Wed, 23 Nov 2005 20:47:32 -0800 (PST) 
From:  brianlinvill@hotmail.com

1. Rule 5.5 Casualties. Is replacement point use and unit destruction 
mutually exclusive? In other words, can a player expend replacements and destroy a unit that replacements were drawn against in order to meet loss requirements? For example - if a 5 point loss is called for against two 2-Ground Strength units (not arty or HQ), could a player expend 3 replacement points (assuming they are available), and destroy one unit; thus leaving one surviving unit? Or must the owning player eliminate both units? 

"Not mutually exclusive - the owning player always has the option of expending replacements unless the loss called for exceeds the total of replacements available and units in question. In your example, the three RPs plus the elim of a two strength unit satisfies the result. It could also be satisfied by expending 1 RP and eliminating both units. Had the same two units been involved in a combat where the result was seven points, there would be no option but to remove both units. "

 2. VC Replacement Recovery - Assuming the targeted VC unit did not disperse prior to the first round of combat, can the NLF player choose to eliminate a VC unit that was attacked but suffered 0 casualties (thus recovering the full value of the unit and potentially ending further combat)? Or must the VC unit suffer at least one casualty before it can be removed? 

"The key is in the first line of the rule - "sustains combat losses." 0 casualties is not sustaining any combat losses. The unit could not be eliminated." 

 
 
 
 

3. Rule 10, Limited Intelligence - Must the US player designate the exact amount of attacking combat power prior to a target VC unit being revealed for odds determination? Or can the US player decide how to allocate the combat power of his active units after he sees the strength of the VC unit?

"The US must allocate prior to seeing the unit revealed. Just as it actually was over there, order of battle intel was one giant shell game, and the VC were pretty good at mixing it up. Its great fun for the VC/NVA player to sucker the US player into committing large amounts of firepower to eradicate a suspected VC regiment only to find it was a political section." 
4. Rule 6.1, Special Operations, Clear and Secure - When does a target hex cease to be a target hex? Can a US unit in an empty hex convert to holding or patrol after fighting a NLF unit that subsequently retreated from the hex in that same round? 

"A hex ceases to be a target hex when there is no longer a target unit in the hex. A hex remains a target hex only so long as a target unit occupies the hex." 
 
 

 
 


5. Rule 17.5, VC Mobilization (Infiltration of NVA population) - Is this infiltration subject to the effects of strategic bombing, or is only trail supply affected? 

"According to the last sentence of the 3rd para of 17.5, the number of population points expended for each NVA Commitment Point allocated is tied to the effective status of the Ho Chi Minh Trail as recorded on that track. Indirectly, Strat Bombing does affect the number of population points received. The more the Strat Bombing damages the trail, the lower the number of population points received. This represents some actual losses due to the bombing, but more to delay, disruption of schedules, and "borrowing" manpower headed south to rebuild trail infrastructure." 


If not, is it also true that population infiltration does not have to be designated a turn in advance? 

"Yes - you just have to allocate supply a turn in advance." 
 


 
 
 

6.  How do you determine Corps subordination for ARVN units operating in Laos and Cambodia? 

“Just extend the SVN Corps boundaries directly west into Laos and Cambodia.” 

 
7. Rule 11.2 - Regarding ARVN regional forces, the rules as written state that regional forces add 1 to the strength of a force defending cultivated terrain.   There is no exception for Cambodia or North Vietnam.  Do regional forces apply outside of South Vietnam?  What about disputed border hexes, do regional forces apply in those hexes in Cambodia adjacent to a disputed border?

“There is no RF benefit in all-Cambodia/Laos hexes. Contested cultivated border hexes, if occupied by Allied combat units, yes, they would get the defensive RF benefit at the Allied player's discretion. If occupied by NLF combat units, the assumption would be that the regional forces are suppressed or dispersed and would not provide any defensive benefit to the Allied player.” 
8.  Rule 16.1 Game Events and Morale - Is the SVN morale penalty for "every third capital captured by the NLF in the preceding season" a one time penalty, or is it awarded for each season that the NLF occupies the capitals?  In other words, if the SVN fails to recapture sufficient capitals in the season(s) following their capture, does the SVN continue to suffer the penalty? 

”The penalty continues because the captured markers are only removed from the capitals that have been recaptured (see rule on page 31) This reflects that a prolonged NLF presence would have been far worse in any provincial capital than a short capture and leave situation.”  


 

9. I read with great interest your articles on Vietnam game strategy and tactics, "Finding the Tunnel's Light" and "Hunting the Vietcong". 
Unfortunately, so did my opponent and I am the NLF player. I read "The Sword and the Juggernaut" and was generally unimpressed. Has anyone ever presented you with a reasonable counter-strategy to your plan? I have worked out a few ways to mitigate the effects of an early, rapid, and large US build-up, but I am still struggling. Care to share any pointers? 

”Study your provinces carefully. Figure out the total write-offs - the ones you'll never have a hope of converting. Keep just enough VC in them to keep the Allied player honest - the “disperse early” guys. Figure out the provinces you really control, and do not initially keep much in those provinces either. There are a number of those provinces where it will take several seasons of NO VC presence to start shifting the population to the government side. You do not need to fight for these now. The provinces you want to fight for early are the mid-range swing provinces that can be driven into pro-VC status by a combination of overloading them with VC and forcing the US player to use free fire. In those provinces cluster your VC units in difficult terrain to cause maximum problems to the US player conducting ops and maximize your use of rgts and bns w/arty in them since your other objective is to cause US and ARVN casualties. Keep an eye out for "secure" provinces with minimal forces. After several turns of this strategy, you may force your opponent into stripping those provinces of mobile units to saturate the contested provinces. Then is your chance to spring back up in the "secure" provinces, knock off a couple of provincial capitals, and generally undo several seasons of pacification work. Never pass on opportunity to attack isolated Allied units to cause loss, even if you take greater losses doing it. Eventually you will lose the population war and this will become an NVA-US slugfest, but the trick is to prolong the fighting long enough and make it costly enough that the US will have to start drawing down sooner rather than later.” 
 
 

 

