Questions on Serbia /Rumainia and other Der Weltkrieg Series games

Below is a note of some questions and replies I received those marked with a * I asked earlier and the replies given have been amended to fit this format.

General rules 

1 From the example of play it seems that the tracing of supply ignores the cost of entering enemy zones of control. Is this correct?

ANSWER – this is correct

2 Can a HQ with a supply point move on a single track railway as it counts as two units? The same question applies to artillery.

ANSWER – although these units may count as multiple divisions, a single such unit of either of these types can still use the single track railway.

3  Can you use column movement to calculate the cost of rail movement?

ANSWER – No you cannot

4 Can you use column and rail movement in the same turn?

ANSWER – No you cannot

5 Should regiments count as 1 unit for rail movement when in real life they were a third of a Division?

ANSWER – They do, this is done to reduce bookkeeping.  If players want a house rule for this, it is ok.

* I assume by extension this could apply to stacking rules as well but only if they are from the same division.

6 I assume replacement divisions can not use column movement.

ANSWER – they can.

7 Can some attackers attack in supply and others attack with no supply (and are so x1/2)

ANSWER – Yes, some can attack in supply while others attack without supply

8* 13.21 and 13.23 are misleading, you may use loss markers in any combination to show the exact losses or use loss markers from other games. (it seems that the loss markers in the games were used to save producing lots of different numbered markers) Visit the Web site to down load some –2 and –3 markers.

9* 
Supply arriving as a reinforcement does not use any rail capacity.

Serbia/Rumania

1 How are the ABC counters to be used.

ANSWER – The ABC counters can be used by a player at will to break down larger formations into smaller formations, or recombine into larger formations.  The only constraint is that when breaking down or recombining, the resulting number of strength points must be equal to or less than what was started with.

2 Can Flotillas bombard like artillery if so at what strength and what supply do they use if any?

ANSWER – Flotillas can only attack according to rule 50-6.  They could add to the bombardment of artillery units from the same hex they are in, or participate in some other kind of attack.  They do so at 1/3 their strength.  No supply is ever expended for river flotillas.

3 Does anyone set up entrenched?

ANSWER – No

4*
To block a river to a flotilla you will need land units on both sides of the river.

Serbia

1 Can anyone use column march when they mobilise?

ANSWER – No

2 Can you transfer supply from the second army to another army before it leaves the map?

ANSWER – No

3 Can you use second Army supply points to supply non 2nd Army units? 

ANSWER – No

4 Does the 2nd Army engineer unit transfer?

ANSWER – It should, at the same time as the HQ.  This is errata

5  If a Flotilla attacks with land units Belgrade is it x1/3 or x1/6 (being 1/3 x ½ for urban?

ANSWER – it would be 1/6, as per your logic in the question

6 Who sets up first in 56.

ANSWER – Serbs

7 Why in scen 2 does the Austrian not get the Cz 2-3 replacement which he gets in scen 1?

ANSWER – It is already ‘incorporated’ into the AH order of battle

8 October 1915 The 4M is only a 1-4 should it be the 9M which is a 2-4 and the same colour?

ANSWER – Yes

9 Same scenario is the artillery 2-4 counters or 2-3 rules?

ANSWER – 2-4 counters

10 Can the British and French use the Greek railway?

ANSWER – Yes, but only from Salonika to Serbia * then they detrain cross the border and join the Serb railway line.

11 Can the Austrians supply German units and if so at the Austrian rates?

ANSWER – No, but the Germans can supply Austrians

12 It looks like the rail lines in 3115 do not connect to 3215 is that right?

ANSWER – All Urban terrain hexsides are considered to contain a double track rail line. (it would just mess up the terrain graphic too much to show it)

13 Can you use the German 3/11 reinforcements to satisfy the withdrawal requirements?

ANSWER – Yes

14 What is the terrain between 2126 and 2125 on the serbian ,map?

ANSWER – Rough (the pattern is missing)

15 51-25 should the 10 Cav be deleted in 51-30 as it goes and is also a reinforcement for Galicia

ANSWER the 10 Cav follows the mandate of 51-25 until it is sent to Galicia.

16 58-15 * no rail lines are converted.

17 60-4* The French may expend supply for the British.

Rumania

1
I seem to have some extra counters should the be used?

Austrian 11 Cavalry Russian 10 Cavalry, there are also 2 lots of 39 R and 1 Artillery should these be renumbered and used. 

2*
63-4 The German reinforcements which are repeated arrive on turn 1

3*
North for supply points means an HQ or combination of HQs operating in Austro-Hungary or in rail lines connected to AH. South supply means to HQs in Bulgaria or rail lines connected to Bulgaria.

4*
The Turks can be supplied by AH or GE HQs

Combined reinforcement schedule

August 7 Austrian units the following should be marked * 34 17 23 Divisions

The 61/62 Bdes from Serbia  turn into the 32 Division in Galicia

ANSWER – Some extra counters are for use in linked games (some still to be published), other counters are duplicates, but can be used in grand campaign games (where players will have production rules)

