COALITION MEMBER 
· created by: Diplomatic Card, Minor Nation surrendering to Coalition. 
· Coalition control 
· No limits on Diplomacy or Surrender unless it used to be insurgent 

INSURGENT COUNTRY 
· created by: Coalition play of an Insurgency Card 
· Coalition control (sort of) 
· French Diplomacy N/A. Insurgent Major Nations ignore normal surrender rules. All forces of Insurgent country limited to fighting within national boundaries although they can retreat to an adjacent area. Also note that minor countries also ignore normal surrender rules, as they will become French dominions only in the Insurrection Phase, not in the Surrender Phase.

FRENCH DOMINION/PREVIOUSLY INSURGENT 
· created by: Occupation of entire insurgent country by French forces 
· French Control 
· French and Coalition Diplomacy N/A 
COALITION MEMBER/PREVIOUSLY INSURGENT 
· created by: Insurgent country containing no French forces. 
· Coalition Control 
· French Diplomacy N/A they can never become French allies again, only French dominions

FRENCH DOMINION 
· created by: Diplomatic Cards but not all diplomatic cards (Napoleonic Dynasty, Joseph--and also Territorial Concessions in some specific cases). Also, can be created as a result of a failed insurrection or as a result of the conquest of a once-insurgent Coalition member by the French side.

· French Control 
· Coalition Diplomacy N/A subject to insurrection 
FRENCH ALLY 
· created by: Diplomatic Cards, Minor Nation surrendering to France unless the minor nation was once insurgent 
· French Control 
· Insurgency N/A 
OCCUPIED NEUTRAL 
· created by: Surrender of Major Power, maintained by one of conquerer's Corps in capital 
· No Control (but neutral violation privileges for both sides) 
· Subject to insurrection. An occupied neutral is impervious to the other side's diplomacy.

NEUTRAL 
· created by: Diplomatic cards or abandonment by conquerer of Occupied Neutral 
· No Control. 
· Insurgency N/A

