
Diplomatic Status Chart 
FRENCH ALLY 
 How can they be created? 
 defined at the start of any given 

scenario. 
 by Diplomacy Card 
 Minor Nation surrendering to France 

or her Allies, unless the minor nation 
was once Insurgent (in which case it 
becomes a French Dominion). 

 Who controls them? 
 French Control  
 How can control change? 
 cannot become Insurgent 
 by Diplomacy card 
 by surrender to Coalition (Major 

Country becomes an occupied 
neutral, Minor Country becomes 
Coalition member).  

 

FRENCH DOMINION - 
PREVIOUSLY INSURGENT 
 How can they be created? 
 when French or Allied forces occupy 

every area of an Insurgent country.  
 Who controls them? 
 French Control  
 How can control change? 
 impervious to French and Coalition 

Diplomacy  
 can become Insurgent again on 

Coalition play of the Insurrection 
card. 

 Surrender to Coalition and become 
Coalition member/previously 
Insurgent (it retains the Insurgent 
counter)  

 

FRENCH DOMINION  
 How can they be created? 
 defined at the start of any given 

scenario (eg Italia in 1805 scenario) 
 by Diplomacy Card. 
 as the result of a failed insurrection (it 

retains the Insurgent counter as a 
reminder it was once Insurgent). 

 as a result of the conquest of a once-
Insurgent Coalition member by the 
French or their Allies (it retains the 
Insurgent counter as a reminder it 
was once Insurgent). 

 see 3.2 Detachable areas.  Certain 
minor countries can be ‘detached’ 
from their main country and become 
French Dominions on play of the 
Territorial Concessions card. 

 Who controls them? 
 French Control.   
 How can control change? 
 impervious to Coalition Diplomacy 
 can become Insurgent on Coalition 

play of the Insurrection card. 
 Surrender to the Coalition during 

Surrender Phase (Major Country 
becomes occupied neutral, Minor 
Country becomes Coalition member). 

 if Tirol is a French Dominion when 
Austria becomes a Coalition member 
it automatically becomes Insurgent. 

 

INSURGENT COUNTRY  
 How can they be created? 
 by Coalition play of an Insurrection 

Card on a French Dominion or 
French occupied Neutral.  

 all corps of an Insurgent country not 
in the home country must be returned 
to reserve. 

 Spanish ‘insurrection’ corps are 
immediately added to reserve when 
Spain become Insurgent. 

 Who controls them? 
 Coalition control (see below).  
 all corps of an Insurgent Country are 

limited to fighting within their 
respective national boundaries.  
However they can retreat to an 
adjacent area.  

 How can control change? 
 Insurgent countries are impervious to 

French Diplomacy. 
 will become French 

Dominion/previously Insurgent if 
French or their Allies occupy all 
areas of that country during the 
Insurrection Phase, not in the 
Surrender Phase. For that reason 
Insurgent Major Nations and Minor 
countries ignore normal surrender 
rules. (it retains the Insurgent 
counter)  

 will become Coalition 
member/previously Insurgent if no 
French (or their Allies) occupy any 
area of that country (it retains the 
Insurgent counter). 

 



 
COALITION MEMBER  
 How can they be created? 
 defined at the start of any given 

scenario 
 by Diplomacy Card 
 when a Minor country surrenders to 

the Coalition in the Surrender Phase. 
 when a neutral country is violated by 

the French or her Allies  
 Who controls them? 
 Coalition control.   
 How can control change? 
 can be subject to French Diplomacy 

unless it used to be Insurgent  
 by Surrender to French or their Allies 

(Major Country becomes occupied 
neutral, Minor Country becomes 
French Ally, or French Dominion if 
formerly Insurgent) 

 
 

NEUTRAL  
 How can they be created? 
 defined at the start of any scenario 
 by Diplomacy card 
  when the conqueror of an Occupied 

Neutral no longer has a corp 
occupying the capital 

 Who controls them? 
 Neither side, entry of an area by 

either side constitutes a violation of 
neutrality. 

 How can control change? 
 cannot become Insurgent 
 by violation of neutrality, in which 

case the country immediately joins 
the opposing side becoming either a 
French Ally or Coalition Member. 

 when it stops being Neutral and joins 
either side it may immediately deploy 
home corps as per the 
Reinforcement rules 

 by Diplomacy card 
 

 
COALITION MEMBER -
PREVIOUSLY INSURGENT  
 How can they be created? 
 When Insurgent country contains no 

French or their Allied forces.  
 When French dominion/previously 

Insurgent surrenders to Coalition. 
 Who controls them? 
 Coalition Control  
 How can control change? 
 They are impervious to French 

Diplomacy (they can never become 
French Ally again) 

 Will become French 
dominions/previously Insurgent if 
they surrender to French or their 
Allies (it retains the Insurgent 
counter). 

 

OCCUPIED NEUTRAL  
 How can they be created? 
 by Surrender of Major Country. 
 Who controls them? 
 neither side, however note that 

neutrality violation rules are 
suspended for occupying side. 

 occupied Neutral status is maintained 
only as long as one of the 
conqueror's Corps remains in its 
capital 

 How can control change? 
 when occupying side no longer has a 

corp in the capital, in which case it 
reverts to Neutral status and all 
neutrality violation rules come into 
effect for both sides. 

 impervious to Diplomacy from the 
opposing side. 

 by Diplomacy card played by the 
occupying side. 

 if France or her Allies are the 
occupying power it will become 
Insurgent if Coalition plays 
Insurrection card. 

 
 


