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Trade, Progress & Diplomacy

During a Trade & Progress action, a player may perform the following three deals after he finished trade:
· Cede OR be ceded one area to/from another empire.

· Pay OR receive gold to/from another empire.

· Give OR receive one card to/from another player

Trade is performed just and exactly the way described in the original rules except that giving/receiving money is now handled within deals as described below. Otherwise trade is not influenced in any way by the rules described below.
Deals
Deals can be performed in any order. An empire can make each deal with a different partner or several with the same just as its player desires. Except for Trade the player performing the action may also combine any of the other three deals, stating that one shall only be done if the other is done simultaneously.

The other deals are done as described below. They all allow to give or to gain something, but never both at the same time. An empire ceding an area for instance may not receive one in the same trade action. But it could receive gold or a card from the same or another partner. 

Ceding an area
An empire may cede an area adjacent to an empire of another player to it or receive an area ceded from an empire of another player. In both cases the other player’s consent is required to this deal.

The original owner retreats his units and leaders from the area. If he can not the deal is still possible but all units/leaders unable to retreat are eliminated instead. Cities remain, but any fortification and artefacts are removed from the area. Those can not be ceded.
The receiving player may then move units and leaders from one adjacent area into the ceded area. If he has none the deal still can be made but the area becomes vacant instead.

Paying money

An empire may pay or receive gold to/from the empire of another player within range. Range is counted from the empire performing this trade & progress action at the moment, i.e. not necessarily by the one who pays.

Giving a card

A player may give or receive one card to another player. No empires are involved and this action may be done even during an additional action.
This deal is not to be confused with ‘Trade’ as defined in the original game, where cards are exchanged and progress may be gained. It is just an additional deal that can be done with another player.
Other Optional rules

Age one, even start
The first empire to be played must be an age 1 empire. Each player must start the game with an age 1 empire in his initial hand.
When the game starts a player may return his entire hand and draw 7 new cards if he holds no card with an empire that can be started unconditionally during age 1. Free State or Pirate State are not unconditionally neither are empires that require another empire to be present to be played in age 1. 
A player may repeat to draw new sets of 7 cards until he gets an age 1 empire, but each time has to show his entire current hand has no such empire. If the deck has run through and he still got no age one empire, all players must return their cards and new hands are dealt.
After this, players start the game by playing one card to bid for the first turn marker as usual. In case of ties, additional cards to resolve the tie are drawn from the deck randomly as tie-breakers.
Save the best for last
The black empire can only be chosen when no other empire is available at the moment.
Hurry up!
When a new step of the sequence of play commences (i.e. start empires, production, manoeuvre, destiny …) all players who picked the respective action have to reveal it simultaneously. 

Docile neutrals
Each diplomatic initiatives of the emissary action is reduced to one area / unit removed each.
Can’t teach old dogs new tricks
An alternate definition for invasion: entering a land area directly from any adjacent sea or ocean area (including any entry by ships, planes, nukes or satellites).

The +1 modifier for rivers / +2 for straits apply when any unit of the attacker crossed over them into the area (yes, again including entry by ships, planes, nukes and satellites).

Rumour has it the ancients play it this way.

Hurt me plenty
Pretend all neural units have the same stats as the black empire set (front line and support values both raised by one). Combine it with docile neutrals if you want to.
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